Sports on the Side

Foothill’s Thomas bound for Davenport

Foothill College wide receiver Darius Thomas announced via Twitter last week that he has committed to Davenport University, an NCAA Division II school in Grand Rapids, Mich. A St. Francis High graduate, the sophomore led the Owls in touchdowns, receptions and receiving yards last season.

CIF offers seniors scholarships

The California Interscholastic Federation, which governs the state’s high school sports, is accepting applications for the 2020 CIF Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards. The awards are aimed at “college-bound seniors whose academic and athletic careers have been truly exemplary and whose personal standards and accomplishments are a positive model for others,” according to the CIF website. The CIF will award $5,000 scholarships to two state winners and $1,000 scholarships to 20 section winners. The application includes writing an essay. The deadline is Thursday. To apply and for more information, visit

League standing in flux, but MVHS boys soccer team is CCS bound

While the Central Coast Section playoffs are a certainty, the Mountain View High boys soccer team enters this last week of the regular season unsure of where it will finish in the SCVAL De Anza Division.

“We will qualify for CCS at this point for sure but could still finish anywhere from first to fourth in league, depending on our last two games,” coach Jim McGuirk said after the Spartans’ 4-0 rout of Palo Alto Feb. 12.

Sports on the Side

Youth hoops camp set for next week

Spartan Sports Camp’s Winter Break Basketball Camp is slated 9 a.m. to noon Monday through Feb. 21 at Mountain View High. Open to boys and girls in grades 3-8, the camp stresses fundamentals and also includes shooting contests and skills challenges. Cost is $60 per day or $275 for the week; scholarships are available. To register, visit

Adult softball league welcomes players

The Vintage Softball Club of Santa Clara County, a slow-pitch league for men and women age 50 and over that includes Los Altos residents, seeks new members for 2020. The club offers year-round Saturday and weekday leagues for all skill levels. A bat and glove are required. Membership is $50-$100. To register and for more information, visit or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Mtn. View boys remain in hunt for soccer title

The Mountain View High boys soccer team needs some help to make it happen, but the SCVAL De Anza Division title remains in reach.

With two games to go, the Spartans sit in second place at 4-2-3 – just ahead of Los Altos (4-2-4) and right behind Santa Clara (6-2-2).

Schools »

Read More

Sports »

Read More

People »

Read More

Special Sections »

Special Sections
Read More

Photos of Los Altos

Browse and buy photos