Last updateWed, 20 Sep 2017 9am


National Merit Scholarship program recognizes 88 MVLA students

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation for academic excellence recognized local high school students. The nation’s largest testing program honored 35 students from Los Altos High School and 53 from Mountain View High. More than 1.5 million students nationally are eligible for the annual recognition.

The 2010 competition began last fall when the students as juniors took the PSAT/NMSQT, an examination that compares the reading analysis, math problem-solving and writing skills of students nationwide.

The competition has four levels. After being recognized as Commended Students, the scholars are further identified as Semifinalists, Finalists and finally, National Merit Scholars.

Los Altos High siblings Sahil Luthra and Shefali Luthra are National Merit Scholars, as are Mountain View High’s Neerav Dixit, Kevin McKee and Patrick Rabuzzi. All will receive $2,500 scholarships.

Los Altos High students who reached the Finalist phase are Aksai Bapa, Ancy Dow, Edward Gu, Erin Hicks, Angela Liu, Katelyn Stangl and Ke Wang. Stangl received a college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship from the University of Chicago.

Mountain View High students named as Finalists are Thomas Ashmore, Kathryn Burch, Kevin Huang, Sarah McClammy, Hershal Patel, Chloe Rossin, Sushmita Sridhar, Elise Sugarman, Jeffrey Tarrasch, Jody Yu Zhang and Lily Zhou. Tarrasch received a corporate-sponsored scholarship from Lockheed Martin.

Mountain View High’s Alex Boltunoy, Gregory Lauro and Christopher Wells reached the semifinals.

Los Altos High Commended Students are Tina Chen, Diana Chou, Mark Conrad, Tara Filsuf, Isabelle Fisher, Jeffrey Gu, Roger Hau, Erica Hicks, Adlai Katzenberg, Sarah Loebner, Paige Logan, Kelly McMeekin, Kathryn Mock, Tim Neiman, Vienna Rye, Anna Sakoi, Alexandra Santiago, Mason Satterwhite, Reena Shah, Scott Stephens, Ariel Tabachnik, Jonathan Tan, Marie Tanga and Adi Yogev.

Mountain View High Commended Students include Joseph Adachi, Christian Armada, Blair Bacsi, Olivia Baney, Eric Bastoul, John Cavagnaro, Ayush Chakravarty, Alison Chalker, Diana Chen, Gregory Daniloff, Elizabeth Donckels, Michael Fanton, Elaine Fisher, Michael Galdes, Matthew Geiger, Sarah Heidmann, Sarah Hess, Jonathan Huang, Anna Irion, Steven Jing, James Kalb, Maxim Kipnis, Brian Kuczynski, Brendan Larsen, Celeste Lattanzi, Lisbeth Leftwich, Riley Moran, Nader Morshed, Amelia Mulford, Stephanie Pollitt, Ralph Pursifull, Markus Rutner, Tulsi Sheth, Kaitlyn Simko, Jenee Smith and Johanna Smith-Nilsson.

In addition, Los Altos High student Aldopho Gomez received National Merit Hispanic Recognition and classmate Cherelle Otey received National Merit Outstanding Participant.

Schools »

Read More

Sports »

Read More

People »

Read More

Special Sections »

Special Sections
Read More

Photos of Los Altos

Browse and buy photos