Candidates locked in for LA, MV council races; Hills extends deadline

Los Altos City Hall” width=
Town Crier File Photo
Seven candidates have filed to run for three seats on the Los Altos City Council.

Local city council races are set to be hotly contested this November, with the deadline passing today for candidates to declare their intent to run in the Nov. 3 election.

The deadline was extended for the Los Altos Hills council, because neither of the two eligible incumbents filed to run again. Nonincumbent filers now have until 5 p.m. Aug. 12 to file.

Below is a summary of the candidates for Los Altos, Los Altos Hills and Mountain View’s city councils.

Los Altos City Council

There are seven candidates for three seats on the five-seat Los Altos City Council. Jan Pepper and Jeannie Bruins are both termed-out. Incumbent Lynette Lee Eng is running again. The other candidates are: Terri Couture, Kuljeet Kalkat, Sally Meadows, Alex Rubashevsky, Scott Spielman and Jonathan Weinberg. Pierre Bedard took out nomination papers but didn’t end up filing to run.

Couture and Rubashevsky are both real estate agents. The other four candidates serve on city commissions: Kalkat on the Financial Commission, Meadows on the Planning Commission and both Spielman and Weinberg on the Parks and Recreation Commission.

Los Altos Hills City Council

The filing deadline has been extended for the Los Altos Hills council race because incumbents Michelle Wu and Roger Spreen did not file to run for re-election. Courtenay C. Corrigan is termed-out. The deadline gets pushed back for nonincumbent filers if any eligible incumbent doesn’t file.

Thus far, there are five candidates for three seats on the five-member council: Stanley Q. Mok, Raj Reddy, Lisa Schmidt, Jay T. Sutaria and Linda G. Swan. Ramon E. Jimenez took out nomination papers but didn’t file to run.

Mok is in his fourth term as a member of the town’s Finance and Investment Committee. Sutaria is serving his first term on the Emergency Communications Committee. Reddy and Swan both serve as associate members of committees, which are nonvoting positions – Reddy on the Environmental Initiatives Committee and Swan on the History Committee.

Mountain View City Council

Nine candidates are running for four seats on the seven-seat Mountain View City Council. Chris Clark and John McAlister are both termed-out. Incumbents Margaret Abe-Koga and Lisa Matichak are running for re-election. The other candidates are: José Gutiérrez, John Lashlee, Sally Lieber, Alex Núñez, Paul Roales, Pat Showalter and Lenny Siegel.

Gutiérrez currently serves on the Mountain View Whisman School District Board of Trustees. Lieber, Showalter and Siegel are all former members of the Mountain View City Council.

Correction: This article was updated to correct the spelling of Los Altos City Councilwoman Jeannie Bruins' name.

election news button

Schools »

Read More

Sports »

Read More

People »

Read More

Special Sections »

Special Sections
Read More

Photos of Los Altos

Browse and buy photos