Last updateWed, 18 Oct 2017 10am


Pepper, Satterlee, Bruins win Los Altos Council seats

Incumbent Megan Satterlee, Jan Pepper and Jeannie Bruins have been elected to serve on the Los Altos City Council. Pepper gained the most votes in Tuesday's election (6,720) of all five candidates running for the council's three open seats.


Satterlee won her re-election bid by placing second with 4,365 votes. Bruins, a former Los Altos Planning Commissioner, placed third with 3,980 votes to win the final open seat on the council.

Pepper told the Town Crier she was "cautiously optimistic" late last night as updated results from the county registrar.

She later told supporters gathered at her home, "I think we're actually going to win, and it's because of everyone's help."

Pepper then handed out bottles of wine with personal thank you notes to each of her volunteers.

Former Los Altos Mayor Jane Reed, a Pepper supporter, told the Town Crier she was "very pleased. Jan's a thoughtful, considerate person. She reflects what a good councilwoman should be. She cares about the community and wants to bring some change to the present council."

Planning and Transportation Commissioner Jon Baer (3,718 votes), Jerry Sorensen (3,589 votes) and Anabel Pelham (2,986 votes) round out the rest of the field.

For more on this story and additional local election coverage, read the Nov. 14 issue of the Town Crier or visit www.latc.com.





Schools »

Read More

Sports »

Read More

People »

Read More

Special Sections »

Special Sections
Read More

Photos of Los Altos

Browse and buy photos