Candidates emerge in local election races

Races are taking shape for the Nov. 3 election, with potential candidates stepping forward to run for seats on local city councils. 

The candidate nomination period opened July 13 and is slated to run through Aug. 7. Below is a roundup of the potential contenders who have emerged as of the Town Crier’s Monday press deadline.

Los Altos City Council

Three seats are open on the five-seat Los Altos City Council. Jan Pepper and Jeannie Bruins are both termed-out, while Lynette Lee Eng is eligible to run for a second term. Los Altos City Clerk Andrea Chelemengos confirmed that seven potential candidates have expressed interest in running.

Terri Couture has filed her nomination paperwork with Chelemengos. Pierre Bedard, Lee Eng, Kuljeet Singh Kalkat, Sally Meadows, Scott Spielman and Jonathan Weinberg all have taken out nomination papers, but not yet officially filed to run.
Couture is a veteran real estate agent, and five potential candidates serve on city commissions: Bedard on the Los Altos-Los Altos Hills Library Commission, Kalkat on the Financial Commission, Meadows on the Los Altos Planning Commission and both Spielman and Weinberg on the Los Altos Parks and Recreation Commission.

Los Altos Hills City Council

Los Altos Hills also has three seats up for a vote on its five-member council. Courtenay C. Corrigan, Roger Spreen and Michelle Wu’s terms all expire in November. Corrigan is termed-out after serving two four-year terms. Wu and Spreen have both said they are undecided on whether to run for another term.

Ramon E. Jimenez, Stanley Q. Mok, Lisa Schmidt, Jay T. Sutaria and Linda G. Swan have all picked up nomination papers, Los Altos Hills City Clerk Deborah Padovan confirmed. None have yet filed to run.

Mok is in his fourth term as a member of the Finance and Investment Committee. Sutaria is serving his first term on the Emergency Communications Committee. Swan is an associate member of the city’s History Committee, which is a nonvoting position.

Mountain View City Council

Four seats are up for grabs on the seven-seat Mountain View City Council. Chris Clark and John McAlister are both termed-out after completing two consecutive four-year terms.

Lenny Siegel is the only candidate who has formally filed, thus far. Incumbents Lisa Matichak and Margaret Abe-Koga are both eligible to run and have taken out nomination papers. José Gutiérrez, John Lashlee, Alex Núñez and Pat Showalter also have picked up nomination papers. Sally Lieber has not yet taken that step but has filed a candidate intention statement, a state campaign finance form, which the other candidates also have submitted.

Gutiérrez currently serves on the Mountain View Whisman School District’s Board of Trustees. Lieber, Showalter and Siegel are all former members of the Mountain View City Council.

El Camino Healthcare District

Six potential candidates have expressed interest in the three open seats on the El Camino Healthcare District Board of Directors in the November election. The five-member board oversees the healthcare district, including El Camino Hospital.

Incumbent Julia E. Miller has already filed to run. Incumbents Gary Kalbach and John L. Zoglin have gotten nomination papers but not yet formally filed to run. They are joined by challengers Meghan Fraley, Jane Chen Lombard and Carol Ann Somersille.

Schools »

Read More

Sports »

Read More

People »

Read More

Special Sections »

Special Sections
Read More

Photos of Los Altos

Browse and buy photos