Schools Briefs: School board leadership, distinguished school award and Foothill speaker

Schools Briefs

Local school districts elect new leadership

The Los Altos School District, Mountain View Los Altos Union High School District and Cupertino Union School District each elected new board officers last month.

The Los Altos School District Board of Trustees unanimously elected Bryan Johnson as president, Vaishali Sirkay as vice president and Steve Taglio as clerk. Previously, Jessica Speiser, Johnson and Sirkay served as president, vice president and clerk, respectively.

The high school district’s board unanimously elected Sanjay Dave as president, Fiona Walter as vice president and Catherine Vonnegut as clerk. Phil Faillace was the former president, with Dave as vice president and Debbie Torok as clerk.

Cupertino unanimously elected Lori Cunningham as president, Jerry Liu as vice president and Satheesh Madhathil as clerk. Previously, Phyllis Vogel was president, Cunningham was vice president and Liu was clerk.

Oak named California Distinguished School

Oak Avenue School has been named a 2020 California Distinguished School.

The California Department of Education announced 323 elementary schools being honored under the distinguished schools program Dec. 18, including Oak. The program recognizes schools based on performance and progress on the state indicators, including test scores, suspension rates and conditions and climate.

According to Oak Principal Kimberly Attell, the school was last a California Distinguished School in 1989. Oak was a National Blue Ribbon School in 2012.

Professor Cornel West set to visit Foothill

Cornel West is slated to discuss democracy, race and justice 6:30 p.m. Jan. 17 at Foothill College’s Smithwick Theatre, 12345 S. El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills.

For tickets, visit

For more information on West, visit

Schools »

Read More

Sports »

Read More

People »

Read More

Special Sections »

Special Sections
Read More

Photos of Los Altos

Browse and buy photos